Parents Can Go on Vacation!

So a long time ago (roughly 5.5 years) Ben and I planned (or really just wanted) to go to Hawaii for our honeymoon. But since I was in school, and we were living off one salary, we decided to postpone it (we had a LOVELY weekend honeymoon on Whidbey Island instead). Every year something has come up (other trips, weddings, pregnancy, etc) that has pushed it to another year. But when the babies were born, we decided that for our five year anniversary (that November) we would finally go on our Hawaiian honeymoon. We decided on January since the babies would be one year and would hopefully be easier to take care (since we planned on leaving them with grandma). We bought tickets when the babies were four months and eight months out seemed like a long time. As we got closer and closer to our departure, I started to get more and more anxious. I thought it was going to be much easier to leave the boys, but panic started to ensue each month, then week, then day that approached. What was I anxious about? I’m not really sure. Mainly that I would miss the boys. But also I had irrational thoughts like “what if something happens to both Ben and I?” I sought out the advice of other mommas who had left their children and survived. Jordan said it best…”something could happen to you right now so get over it.”

And of course four days before we left Mason got a really high fever and I took him to the ER, and then my gma took a spill and was out of commission to come stay with my mom at our house to watch the boys. Sick baby? Just my mom watching the babies? Some could say that was the universe saying stay, but I interpreted it as get the heck out of Portland. Our departure day came (Mason’s fever had broke, Elliott showed no signs of sickness), mom was there at 7:30 to get the rundown, I cried twice–once when I was feeding their bottles and reading a story like we do, and once after. Mom told me to suck it up and go on vacation already and we were off. On the way over (after a couple of bloody marys, we did joke how we picked one of the furthest places to go–I mean we literally put an ocean between us–but once we set foot on Hawaiian soil, it was apparent that we made a good decision.

It took two days to for me to calm down, really three nights. I had so much fun in those first couple of days, but of course could not seem to really relax. I mean, the vacation was going in slow motion (I understand this sounds ridiculous…I mean we were Hawaii for goodness sakes…but still), but once we hit the half-way mark I hit my relaxation stride.

The weather was unbelievable and Ben and I made sure to make the most of it. We snorkeled almost every day (one day we even took a snorkeling tour and saw dolphins, whales, AND snorkeled with turtles!!), went hiking, ate the best seafood, played Cribbage, watched movies, talked, laughed, drove around, and just had a fabulous time. Yes we called (a lot), and we Skyped, but I think we did pretty good for our first real time away. Gma was amazing. She held the fort down with two babies, a dog, 3 chickens, and a whole lot of rain. Granted the car was packed by the time we got home, but she had a great time, as did two little dudes.

I’m so thankful we were able to get away and can see now how different life really is. I’ve never gone on vacation and thought so much about what we left back home, but would I do it again? Crap, if we could be in Hawaii now, I wouldn’t bat an eyelash.

photo 1

Poipou

photo 2

Driving up the Northeast side

photo 3

Secret Beach

photo 4

The entire trip I either had the Jurassic Park theme song or the Christmas song from Christmas Vacation in my head

Yumm

Yumm

Waimea Cannon

Waimea Cannon

On the 2nd to last day, Ben and I did the epic hike to Hanakapi’ai Falls. Eight miles roundtrip isn’t much, but it is on this trail. Up, down, scaling rocks, splashing through mud, crossing rivers, etc. Worth it even if I pouted in the middle.

The hike views

The hike views

Crossing the river

Crossing the river

This was the trail

This was the trail

In the jungle

In the jungle

We made it!

We made it!

The one bonus is that we weren’t sad to leave Hawaii (well maybe a little), because we had something great waiting for us at home. I mean who doesn’t want to come home to these guys?

photo 4

Leave a Reply

